I Insist That You Persist!


Luke 18:1, 7

Pray Without Ceasing

(1)Then Jesus told his disciples a parable to show them that they should always pray and not give up…(7) and will not God bring about justice for his chosen ones, who cry out to him day and night? Will he keep putting them off?  (8) I tell you, he will see that they get justice, and quickly.

1 Thessalonians 5:17-18

Pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

 

Being persistent in prayer does not mean endless hours of long prayers. We are not being instructed to give up our day jobs to sit on our knees and pray.  To always be in pray and do so without ceasing means that we should not forget to take our requests to the Lord and keeping them before him as we live our lives.   These verses should remind us of the adage we’ve heard from childhood, “persistence pays off.”   Many people will tell us to pray and then move on, we don’t have to keep praying about the same thing over and over, but these verses say otherwise.  When we pray, we ought to do so believing we have an answer to our prayers but that does not mean we should not pray continually and with thanksgiving.

Circumstances beat us down sometimes, and the weight of the world seems about to crush us completely, but we must persist in prayer! Even as I write this, the last 24 hours of my life have been turmoil, and my emotions kept my prayers far from my lips. But this morning, I woke with requests, the same requests I’ve taken to God before many times. I did so not as a last-ditch effort, but because I know God hears, and I hold on to the hope that someday, somehow, he will answer me.

Just pray, one more time. And if the situation comes to mind again…pray again.  Just because you pray today doesn’t mean you will get an answer today; God’s delays are not denials. Let him work things out… Psalm 30:5 says that “Weeping may endure for the night but rejoicing comes in the morning.” If you are not to that point of rejoicing yet, that just means it’s not morning yet. Keep moving, keep living, but you must keep praying.

Pray for the Kingdom of God, pray for those around you; your friends, family, co-workers, churches, people you’ve not even met…pray! God does hear, and he will answer you.

May grace and peace be yours as you persist in your prayers.

God bless you!

11 thoughts on “I Insist That You Persist!

  1. Pingback: Prayer Requests – 9/2012 « Strangers and aliens…

  2. Pingback: Desparate Cry for God’s Help « Prayer Works Cafe

  3. Pingback: Keep Your Eyes on Jesus « Prayer Works Cafe

  4. Pingback: The Most Joyful Day in my Life « Prayer Works Cafe

  5. Pingback: God Honors Consistent Prayer « Prayer Works Cafe

  6. Pingback: Requesting Prayer for Dawn Jones « Prayer Works Cafe

  7. Pingback: 9/30/2012 Pray Faithfully | ForeWords

  8. Pingback: 40 DAYS of PRAYER and I am PRAYING are YOU???? « GOD, GUTS,OLD GLORYand AMMO

  9. Pingback: Terrified by What it Looks Like by C Bowen-Noble « Prayer Works Cafe

Comments are closed.