Who is my brother?


Written for His Wonders Magazine- A Magazine for young men and women-May – August 2009

 Jesus said of his brothers in Luke 8:21; “My mother and brothers are those who hear the word of God, and do it.”

I grew up a product of two different families, equipped with brothers and sisters in both. But what really makes a person a brother or sister? Is it only biology? Nature? Or a combination of both? I am inclined to believe it is a matter of the heart, not a force of nature or nurture. As I think about my brothers and sisters who are followers of Christ, they are my closest siblings. They are the ones who truly look out for me and have a genuine interest in my spiritual and physical life.

The concept of sibling rivalry has existed since the days of Cain and Abel. As Cain was jealous of Abel, so generations of siblings will experience affects of jealousy, entitlement, insecurity, dominance, etc. The older siblings in my families will always believe they know more, and know better than I, and I am sure I express the same sentiment to those coming up after me; they are nonetheless my siblings, and deserve my love.

There were times when I desired to be an only child, thinking there was no reason for there to be more than one, but having siblings teaches us many things. We will, whether we want to or not, learn how to share, we learn how to take turns, and eventually learn that we are not the most important person in the world. Our brothers and sisters ought to help train us in the way we should go; helping us to recognize right and wrong; righteousness and worldliness. Our brothers and sisters should remain connected to us, constantly training us … “devoted to one another in brotherly love…” Romans 12:10. Everyone in the body of Christ is my brother, my sister, my mother, and my father.

Respect those who have gone before you, heed the words of their instruction and pass on your strength, your knowledge, and your love to those you encounter. We all have a responsibility to live well in the life God designed for us. Live together in unity and love, and encourage others to do the same so we all may live in victory.

“Whoever loves his brother lives in the light, and there is nothing in him to make him stumble.” 1 John 2:10.

 Peace to you and be blessed,

 Shaunna

