Walking with God, Walking with Integrity


How is your walk with God these days?

 In Psalm 101 vs. 2, David writes, “I will be careful to lead a blameless life–” You know, and I know that no one on this side of heaven will ever live a perfect life, but David is talking about living a life of integrity. Who are you spending time with? What are you listening to? What are you watching? (Vs. 3 “I will set before my eyes no vile thing.”) I heard a song the other day as I was setting the stations in my new car; the line I heard was, “I’m the one who makes the good girls go bad,” or something like that. Why would anyone in their right mind want to spend time with a self-proclaimed bad influence? That’s crazy, but it’s real and powerful to the one who isn’t sure which way to go.

Who is walking with you? Are the people you hang with headed in the direction of God or the gutter? A former friend of mine (someone from whom I had been distancing myself) invited herself to my home one weekend under the rouse that she wanted to celebrate my birthday with me and “see Washington D.C.  What I did not know at the time, was that she really wanted someone to take her out on the town so she could hook up with some guy(s) and have a good time. She was living with a man at the time, but he was 1100 miles away and not about to just drop by to see her. She needed some action, and so she took full advantage of our time in D.C. and Baltimore. Every chance she got, she was trying to get something started with someone. By the time the weekend ended, she was in the hot tub with my [married] landlord.  When I dropped her off at the airport, I decided to take full advantage of vs. 4, “Men of perverse heart shall be far from me; I will have nothing to do with evil.”   Such a lifestyle is not welcome in my home.

As believers we are called to live a life of a higher standard, and who we befriend, what we do in public and behind doors must be consistent. We cannot pray with the saints on Sunday, and break bread with the devil when we shake off the last of our Sunday-best. We are called to have our eyes on the faithful, and to receive counsel from those whose walk is right, (Vs. 6). It is our responsibility to speak up when we hear something that is not right and check liars at the door (Vs. 7) … to speak and do the right things; to live a life that is blameless.

My days (and probably yours also) are filled with noise; phones ringing, sirens, email notifications buzzing, dogs, kids, traffic, music…but my days start and end the same way…quietly.  My walk is far from perfect, but I do my best to silence the wicked that tempts me in the morning, and the wicked that taunts me all day long;  like David wanted to do in Vs 8, “Every morning I will put to silence all the wicked in the land; I will cut off every evildoer from the city of the Lord.”  I encourage you to do the same. Start and end your day with God and He will help you walk with integrity in between times.

May your walk be genuine today!

Shaunna L. Jackson

www.speakinglifeministries.org

One thought on “Walking with God, Walking with Integrity

Comments are closed.