Not Until God says “Yes”


Young%20Man%20Praying“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God, And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 4:6)

 I am the product of a generation that wants everything now. Instant gratification is the general way of life; don’t wait if you don’t have to; act and then inform. THis is also a generation that has great skepticism, and that skepticism flows in the direction of faith and spirituality. We live our lives believing that we are the master of our domain, the captain of our ships and never give a second thought to the idea the God may want input in our lives; after all, it is He who gave us life.

 With all of the advancements in the world, and how we live life, there are many decisions to make and as many reasons to seek wise counsel. In my own life, I have had many reasons to wait on the Lord’s answer; I moved across the country alone, stepped away from a job uncertain about being a contractor, wondered if I should have the surgery or risk not being able to conceive…all of these things required prayer and God’s seal of approval. In these matters, God said “Yes”. 

 Recently, I made a decision that was not in line with God. I wanted to pursue a leadership opportunity though felt in my heart it was not the right thing to do.  I moved forward anyway, thinking that this would finally get me ahead in life. I wanted to increase my opportunities to make more money, to improve my quality if life. Thirty days into the role, I was burdened with the decision and miserable doing what I thought would bring me greater joy. I eventually chose to back out because I knew I had not submitted the matter to the Lord. He was telling me, before I even agreed to the new role, that I should say “No”. I wanted something that was not meant for me at the time and found myself in a mess.

 God wants us to seek him in all we do, and believe it or not, He does answer every prayer. The answer will be yes, no, or wait. Being the human I am, I want all of His answers to be “Yes”, but I also believe that if we live our lives according the will and word of God, there will be many more “Yes” responses. I am again faced with a major decision, one that will change my life forever. It is a matter of the heart but requires the nod of approval from God to move forward. Waiting will be the hard part because the heart can be deceptive; sometime we want things so fervently, that we create an answer God never gave.  I want things to be right and I want a “Yes”, but I want it to be God’s “Yes”. Until God says “Yes”, I must pray, and wait… 

 Wait on the Lord.

Pray about everything.

Stay busy doing the Lord’s work.

Stay in faith.

God will guard your heart and your mind and turn you in the direction of “Yes!”

