A Gift of Thanks


“Let us come before his presence with thanksgiving.” – Psalm 95:2

 This is a time of year when we use a lot of our words to tell other people what we are thankful for in life. The list includes: food, shelter, employment, family…and goes on and on. But Christians know, that without the love of God, none of those things would be possible.

 On this Thanksgiving Day, remember that God also desires, (and requires), a heart of gratitude and thanks. Give thanks today not for the many blessings that He has bestowed upon you, but also, for all He has been for you; your provider, guider, confidant…

 Take time to realize how much you need to express your gratitude, not just today, but every day. Giving the Lord your thanks, says you know you are not in charge; not self-sufficient. It is the Lord God who enables all of you to be, and makes ways for you to become, all He desires and purposes in you for the furtherance of His kingdom.

 Also remember the every day people in your life today. No one tires of hearing the words “Thank you”.  Some where in the busy-ness of life, we have lost the art of saying and showing how grateful we are for those we see and interact with every day.  Today is a day to find ways, and the words to say how much each person means to you.  I assure you, they will not mind.

 ~ ~ Lord, remind me that giving thanks is an exercise of the heart and truly is a gift to those on the receiving end. Help me to realize how much I need to express my gratitude. You desire it, and it is a requirement of mine. I humble myself before you Lord, and give you thanks and praise for just being the God of my life. AMEN! ~ ~

One thought on “A Gift of Thanks

  1. here in Nigeria, we have a song that goes thus,

    “Every time i see the dawn of the day
    i say thank you Lord…”

    “Lord, remind me that giving thanks is an exercise of the heart and truly is a gift to those on the receiving end. Help me to realize how much I need to express my gratitude. You desire it, and it is a requirement of mine. I humble myself before you Lord, and give you thanks and praise for just being the God of my life. AMEN! ”

    thank you for this one. you are always on point. God bless you dear.

Comments are closed.