Faith – No Shaking


 “Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from him. He alone is my rock and my salvation he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.” Psalm 62:5-6

Launch Out

Have you ever been to the circus and watched the trapeze flyers? It is an exciting performance rooted on faith (and a lot of practice). Like these high flyers, we are often faced with situations that require a lot of us, and a lot of faith. A couple years ago, a medical situation arose requiring surgery. It was also during this time that I was incredibly unhappy with my job and wanted to quit anyway so the time away was welcomed. I was doing some freelance writing and editing at the time, and was about to land a sizeable writing project. I prayed and considered my options and the risks involved with leaving my job albeit undesirable. I knew I had to make a decision, and just like the trapeze artist, I had to be the one to make the first move. I quit my job shortly after my recovery, and launched out into my writing career.

I had no idea what was about to happen, but I knew God was there with me. And they my world was rocked by bad news. Just as quickly as I got into my new routine, I was out of it again. My client ended up having to back out of the contract for personal reasons and I was jobless … for a short time. Even though this was bad news, it was not a bad situation. Sure, I was upset; the cancellation came on my birthday of all days, but I knew that God allowed that circumstance for the purpose of teaching me to trust Him. I volleyed back and forth about what to do, where to go, how to pay the rent etc, but was reminded that I had to let it go. And like the trapeze artist, I could not stay in a state of swinging back and forth for very long, I had to get ready for my next move.

Let Go

The next day I started writing. The words were not even coming from me most of the time. I look back at the book I wrote in those few weeks, and am in awe because the words could only have come from God, he just used my fingers to put them on paper. I was given the revelation to just sit and write; do nothing else but write the book that was given to me. When a trapeze flyer launches off the platform, they have only a few seconds to get into position and make themselves available to accomplish the next part of the act…getting caught. But in the mean time, while they are between the platform and where they need to be, they have to commit to the moment and meet the person waiting to catch them.

Now, in my time of writing, I was not led to do anything else, I was to remain still in the writer’s position and complete that step. The trapeze flyer also has to be still. Once they let go of their bar, they need to hold still in their position until the launch is completed and they are caught by the other flyer. Moving around and allowing themselves to be distracted will usually result in missing the catcher, and they will fall. During my writing assignment, I was so sure that God had me, I regret to even admit that many times since then my faith has not been that strong, but it is important for each of us to have faith. No matter what happens, we must, like the trapeze flyer, stay focused and expect to be caught. It doesn’t matter what other people around are saying.

Hold Still

If you believe that you are walking with God in what you are doing, expect him to keep you safe. Our situations do not always look right or make sense to other people and they will turn their noses up at your decisions or refuse to acknowledge some things. Sometimes life is uncertain, and scary, and questionable to other people, but God is the one you must hope and trust in. God is the one you must look to for your miracle, not the people around you. Get up and off the platform you find so comfortable. Let go of your desire to be in control of everything.

Be still in the assignment God gives you and expect to be caught in the safe embrace of the Lord after you have done your part.

Expect to be Caught

My book “Immovable Faith” is the final product. God did it!

Be good, be careful, and be a blessing to someone today. SJ.

4 thoughts on “Faith – No Shaking

  1. Thank you dear. this is so apt. Faith is letting go and expecting to be caught. The Psalmist said “i was young and now i am old. i have never seen the righteous forsaken or his seed begging for bread”.

    Once more thank you

  2. this so encourages me, i was dwelling on other stuffs instead of focusing on the fact that God just ask me to praise to the end of the journey

    like you said, as i let go, i am supposed to expect to be caught and God is faithful…
    thanks

  3. Jessica Nicholas

    thank you so much for sharing this. God has so many intricate ways of getting His point across… i am literally in the midst of a faith walk. I have never thought of the analogy of a trapeze flier/catcher, but was so in agreement with each part of the process. I am one that left my job too and writing is one of the many facets that make up my next step… I believe God has me and that I am not alone, the launching out is about come next where I know I shall fly high as an eagle with the Lords hands as my protection and direction always… we shall all do this once we believe in Him to do His whole part and we do ours… which is promised in the Word!
    thank you again and be blessed.

Comments are closed.