Check the Gate


I went to the Nigerian Embassy this week, was ahead of schedule so I had plenty of time to enjoy the nice day as I walked to the building. But as I walked up the street, I noticed a group of people starting to form at the gate outside. People were checking their watches and peeking through the fence. I was early so it didnt bother me that we may still be locked out.  I stood for only seconds with two gentlemen who arrived as I did before one of them checked his watch, mumbled something about the time while choosing to shake the gate and alert someone to our presence instead.

As he pushed his hand into the gate, it swung open wide. We all walked into the Embassy thinking we had gotten in ahead of the crowd, but were greeted by a room already full of people who had checked the gate and walked in.  On my way out, there was another group of people standing at the gate peering through, very eager to see a person coming from the building. I called to them to just push the gate open. I was excited about letting them know how to get in because I received what I went for, and wanted them to be just as successful. But they stood there looking at me seeming to wonder how I had made it through.  Again, as I walked, I told the young man at the gate to just push it open; it was not locked. He said, “But there is a lock on the door”. True, there was a lock hanging on the gate, but it wasn’t connected to any other part of the fence. I repeated that it was in fact open, and he grabbed the iron and started to shake it. At the first push, the gate swung open and the group disappeared into the building.

Whatever it is you desire, and are looking at through the fence, check the gate. Just because it looks like you cannot get passed an obstacle, doesn’t mean there hasn’t already been an opening made for you. The man I was standing next to, desperately wanted what he knew was on the other side…how much do you want to access that which you are just peering at through the fence? Check the gate.

4 thoughts on “Check the Gate

  1. Starre

    I wonder if there are people in heaven looking down begging us to just check the gate because they know we want what is on the other side…

  2. John

    Wow, what a great metaphor! The things that stop us are all made up! our goal setting, perceptions, evaluation of our intention etc… all limit our true possibility! BE limitless and in the moment you will accomplish as much as you can and by default you will Do all that needs to be done and have all that you need!

    Nice stuff Shauna!

    all the best to you and thank you for the enlightening perspective.

Comments are closed.