ARE YOU BOLD ENOUGH?


 

living-with-boldness

Mark 11:22-24 encourages us: “So Jesus answered and said to them, “Have faith in God.  For assuredly, I say to you, whoever says to this mountain, ‘Be removed and be cast into the sea,’ and does not doubt in his heart, but believes that those things he says will be done, he will have whatever he says. Therefore I say to you, whatever things you ask when you pray, believe that you receive them, and you will have them.”

This morning it was raining when I woke; raining hard. Normally, this would be a welcomed event because I love the rain and the sound it makes on the roof. But today, I was concerned because my husband has a long commute for which he uses public transportation which means that for part of the time, he is standing outside waiting. And, it’s February. Rain in February is not a warm soothing rain, it’s a cold chilling disturbance. My prayer was, “Lord, stop the rain for the 2 hours he has to be on the way home.”  

Are you bold enough to believe that God can answer such a prayer?  I am.  My husband reported that it was raining when he left work, but by the time he got home about two hours later, the rain had stopped and he didn’t have to walk 5 blocks in the hard rain. As I am writing this, my husband is home and the rain has not resumed, though the forecast calls for rain through the day.

On another occasion, my husband was on his way to work.  The second leg of his commute was running very late, which meant he was likely to miss his last connection, which would mean he’d have to miss work. My prayer, “Lord, cause everyone to run late so he can get to his job tonight.”   Are you bold enough to pray such a prayer? I was.  At the point I think he was about to give up and come home, the train came. At the other end, the connecting ride was also running late according to the group that had gathered to wait.

Do I really believe these things happened because I prayed? YES! I believe because the Word of God says I have what I ask for if I believe. I know, many will say it’s just a coincidence, but nothing about this life is happenstance.  You don’t have to believe in the grace, mercy, and favor of  God, but as for me, I know my God hears me and will answer me. He will do the same for you if you let him. My husband’s comfort is important to me, and I want all to go well with him at work, on the way to and from work, at home…you see, when things are well with him, things are well with me. 

Trust God with all aspects of your life, he will bless you, and all will be well with you.

 

One thought on “ARE YOU BOLD ENOUGH?

Comments are closed.