He’s Got You by the Wrist!


Hes-got-you-by-the-wrist

Take a good look at the picture above. This father is leading his children away from a suicide-bomb scene in Kabul. All three of them are distraught and there is a sense of urgency as you look at them. What struck me was not the looks on their faces, but how the father is holding his beloved. He’s not holding their hands, he’s got a good grip on their wrists.  This signifies that he has no intention of letting them slip away from him. Where he goes, they will go.

My mind went to our Father in Heaven. Often times we are in the wrong place at the wrong time, or the right place at the wrong time and we need to get away quickly. That urge to “GET OUT!” is not God leading you away, that is God taking you away. He’s not saying, follow me, he’s saying, you are coming with me.  Remember as children…when our parents needed us to be somewhere other than where we were, they did not grab a hand, the snatched a wrist (or ear, or back of the neck); where they went, we went. Authority says,  “You are coming with me. now”!

I can almost hear the thoughts of the little boy – his panic-stricken face is screaming, “Daddy get me outta here!”  No one is looking back or objecting.   Let that be your own escape attitude. Call on Jesus when you’re facing  or trying to get away from disaster and destruction (Psalm 50:15 – and call on me in the day of trouble; I will deliver you, and you will honor me.”).  The authoritative Word of  God says, he’ll “take you by the wrist”, and get you outta there!  Remember to thank him when it’s over.

Be good, be careful, and be a blessing to someone this weekend!

photo source: http://slideshow.nbcnews.com/slideshow/news/the-week-in-pictures-may-9-16-51903924/walking-away-from-a-deadly-scene-3/

2 thoughts on “He’s Got You by the Wrist!

Comments are closed.